Bookish Topic Tuesday – What I was reading when I was 10

Bookish Topic Tuesday

What I was reading when I was 10, 11 and 12

So I thought today I’d take a trip down memory lane, and see what I was reading when I was 10, 11 and 12 years old. I also thought it might be interesting how many of these books I actually remembered reading. Luckily, thanks to my teacher’s insistence, I kept a record of the books I read (at least during the school year), and thanks to my inability to throw things like this away, I have a list!So when I was 10, according to the records, it was when I read through A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snickett, which is one series I do remember, and I loved them dearly! I almost feel like I should reread them, I don’t think it would take too long to read all 13 books, since they aren’t too dense, but I don’t know whether I should relive them, or explore something new? Another example of a great series, this time one I do reread, is Harry Potter, I grew up with them, so of course I was reading them at some point! Another series I read was The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, again it’s one I don’t really remember all that much, and this one I’m more inclined to reread at some point (maybe I should wait until I have kids, then I’ll just read the books with them!).

I also (influenced by my teachers and librarian, a fabulous woman!) read a number of books relating to refugees and asylum seekers, namely Boy Overboard and Girl Underground by Morris Gleitzman, who is a great author, and I do somewhat remember these, and I also read Parvana, Parvana’s Journey and Shauzia all by Deborah Ellis, which again were really interesting reads, and probably somewhat influenced my beliefs on this matter. Another related book was A Stone in My Hand by Cathryn Clinton.

There are a few other books which I only remember vaguely, looking at the titles, covers and synopses has sparked a little bit of my memory, which is great! Books like Peaches of Panic by Paul Shaw (a Captain Cat and The Umbrella Kid story), Surfing Mr Petrovic by Colin Bowles, The Valley of Secrets by Charmain Hussey (I think I had a thing with being orphans, and kids inheriting a lot of money) Just Kidding by  Andy Griffiths and Hitler’s Daughter by Jackie French, which I do remember more, and it was very interesting.

So when I was 11, I seemed to have a bit of a fantasy love. I read The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings for the first time (didn’t really remember all of them, and I think LoTR was a tad too dense for me then), I read the Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke (I got confused for a moment and though it was the series by Caroline Wilkinson), I read a lot of the Quentaris series of books by various authors (one of whom is Isobelle Carmody!!), I read Harry Potter again (!), The Warriors of Alavana by N M Browne, The Spiderwick Chronicles by Tony Diterlizzi and Holly Black, Breakaway and Tearaway by Phil Cummings (which I had completely forgotten about and now I have tingles remembering those books!!!).

I also read a few other non-fantasy books, including some of the Wayside School series by Louis Sacher, Uncooked stories by Paul Jennings, The Prime Minister’s Brain by Gillian Cross.

I also read a few survival and war stories, including The Trenches by Jim Eldridge, Hatchet Winter by Gary Paulson (a series that I absolutely love!!), John Marsden’s Tomorrow When the War Began series (another fantastic series which is amazing!!!) And Escape From War Frank and Hannah’s Stories, by James Riordan (any relation to Rick?)

And then finally when I was 12, I continued my fantasy love, with The Shadow Thief by Alexandra Adornetta (interesting little series, by a teen author I think), The Dragon series by Carole Wilkinson (which I LOVE!), more of the Quentaris series (there were a lot), the next book in the series Warriors of Camlann by N M Browne, the Twilight Series (yes I read them, look I was 12, and I read them cause other people were reading them, they weren’t very good, but, whatever, moving on), and Fire Dancer by Victor Keleher (which were really interesting books the 3 of them in the series, really interesting!). Plus a few books relating to Plagues, Plague 99, Watches at the Shrine and After the Plague by Jean Ure.

I also continued reading John Marsden with his sequel series Ellie’s Chronicles, and I read Ishmael, The Story of B and My Ishmael by Daniel Quinn, which for a 12 year old, was probably a bit much, since it’s quite a moral/new age thinking sort of book, but I really liked them, and another similar book with The Last Hours of Ancient Sunlight: The Fate of the World and What We Can Do Before It’s Too Late by Thom Hartmann. Also The slightly true story of Cedar B. Hartley, who planned to live an unusual life, another refugee story in Rosanne Hawke’s Soraya the Storyteller, Antarctica Journey to the Pole by Peter Lerangis, Helicopter Man by Elizabeth Fenshaw (another book I had forgotten about and has given me shivers remembering!), 45 and 47 Stella Street by Elizabeth Honey, Song Man by Bob Randall and completely out of sync with the other book choices Specky Magee!

Wow what a trip through memory lane, some really good books I’ll have to revist, and some surprises of books that I had forgotten about, but really liked!

So what were you reading when you were 10, 11 and 12? Do you remember? Any favourites you’ve reread?

2 Comments

Filed under Bookish Topic Tuesday, JRR Tolkien

2 responses to “Bookish Topic Tuesday – What I was reading when I was 10

  1. kirksroom

    What books was I reading when I was 10? Mostly a lot of Roald Dahl books (I’ve read most of his children’s books) and the Wayside School books, as well (I still love the Miss Zarves’ 19th story chapters in Wayside School is Falling Down.) And also I think I read the copy of Magician’s Gambit Mom loaned me, well, tried, I didn’t actually finish it.

    Also I read the whole Chronicles of Narnia series. But not when I was 10.

  2. Pingback: Bookish Topic Tuesday – Keeping Track of your Reading | daniel is reading

Leave a Reply

