Bookish Topic Tuesday – Books I plan to get to in 2014

Bookish Topic Tuesday

Books I plan to get to in 2014

It happens every year doesn’t it? You think, ‘oh, I’m going to read this book this year, finally’ but then things get in the way, other books take your fancy and it gets pushed away, relegated to the ever growing ‘to read’ pile. And then it is December, and you still haven’t gotten around to them.

Sure there’s still a week left of this year, so perhaps I’ll get around to a couple of these, I haven’t really decided what I’m going to be reading this week, but, inevitably some of the books I said I would read, I won’t get around to. But, they’ll be at the top of the list for 2014, except of course, that list is not at all static.

The one that’s really at the top of the list must be The Cuckoo’s Calling, because I started reading it and posting about it, but for some reason it’s stagnated, and I just haven’t gotten around to finishing it. I will! I swear I will, but, not this week!

The other books I said I wanted to read this year are: The Silmarillion, The Children of Hurin and Unfinished Tales by Tolkein, which are all on there because at the beginning of the year I had just read Lord of the Rings, so I thought I might as well read all of them. But I guess these can be for the summer of 2014! Then there’s Metro Winds by Isobelle Carmody, another collection of her short stories, and Catch-22 by Joseph Heller, which I was planning to read after Gatsby, but I think that took longer than expected then The Cuckoo’s Calling came around, and then I was too busy.

What else do I plan on reading in 2014? Well, of course my to read list needs a bit of work on it, but, as for the books I really want to get around to I’ve got a couple. I wouldn’t mind reading a few more of John Green’s books after my wonderful experience with The Fault in Our Stars, and Looking for Alaska is probably at the top of that list! And then from there I wouldn’t mind reading Fahrenheit 451, and some of the Sherlock Holmes stories (I bought like the whole collection of them about 2 years ago and haven’t get read any of them…). And then I have Divergent, Uglies and The Knife of Never Letting Go sitting on my shelves begging to be read. As well as Gone by Michael Grant, and these four books are ones I really want to read! And Dracula and I wouldn’t mind starting the Game of Thrones series (and following that up with the TV show).

A few books I know I’ll be reading since I’ve borrowed them from the library, which automatically bumps them up the list, is Lord of the Flies, World War Z, The House of Hades and Parasite by Mira Grant (which I AM SUPER EXCITED ABOUT CAUSE NEWSFLESH WAS JUST AMAZING!).

So far that’s around 25 books, so, that’s certainly doable in 2014, but I’m sure I’ll be adding so many more books to this list. And I haven’t even considered new books which are going to be coming out! So what are you going to be reading in 2014? Did you plan on reading anything this year which you didn’t get around to? What book are you most excited for?

Oh and Merry Christmas! I hope everyone has a wonderful time with family, friends, or yourself, perhaps sharing the joy of a good book!

2 thoughts on “Bookish Topic Tuesday – Books I plan to get to in 2014

  1. In 2014:
    I will be finishing The Secret Garden and Shutter Island first of all (I have only 3 chapters left in Shutter Island now and 6 in The Secret Garden) 11/22/63 by Stephen King, then I will shortly be finished with The Battle of the Labyrinth and The Borrowers Avenged.

    After that I’ll probably start The Cuckoo’s Calling and then get around to all the grand finale books I’ve had lined up in a bag waiting for me for some time.

Leave a Reply

