Bookish Topic Tuesday – End of the Year Book Survey – 2013

Bookish Topic Tuesday

End of Year Book Survey – 2013

The wonderful Jamie at Perpetual Page Turner has been running a End of Year survey for the last four years now, and I did this last year, so I’m doing it again!

1. Best Book You Read In 2013? (If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

Ah this is such a tough decision. I really loved The Sending because I had been waiting to read it for so long. And American Gods was very good. And The Newsflesh Trilogy (Feed, Deadline, Blackout) were damn good as well. So I guess there’s my answer.

 2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

I think it would be a tie between Pride and Prejudice and The Great Gatsby. Two classics which I was excited to read, but found them not to my liking.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013? 

Oooh I guess American Gods, that was quite unexpected, and it was most definitely in a good way!

 4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

I’ve been recommending the Newsflesh series to a lot of people, but I don’t think anyone has taken it up yet….

 5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

Looks like I’m going to repeat myself a few times. Cause it’s Newsflesh! Hands down!

 6. Favourite new author you discovered in 2013?

Mira Grant. I’m not purposely doing this, but seriously, definitely my favourite new author.

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

I guess of the classics I have read this year, it would be The Crucible.

 8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

Oops, here we go again, the Newsflesh trilogy fit this criteria too well! And it would be a tie between all three of these books.

 9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Oh, I want to say The Sending, since I may reread that before the next book, but no idea whether it’ll be out yet.

10. Most memorable character in 2013? 

This is a tough one. There are so many characters, I don’t really know who to pick.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

I think it would be A Thousand Splendid Suns which I just read days ago, but American Gods comes pretty close.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013? 

I’m not sure to be honest. Perhaps The Road or Nineteen Eighty-Four (both of which I’m yet to write a post about, but I’ll get there!)

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read? 

Hmm perhaps Lord of the Flies, simply because I missed reading it at school, and it seems like such a classic.

 15. Favourite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013?

I have no clue. Perhaps in 2014 I should keep a record of these….

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

Shortest – Animal Farm, so very short but with such a strong message.
Longest — I guess it’s technically Lord of the Rings, though The Stone Key comes pretty close.

 17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

Oooh The Sending and also The Newsflesh Trilogy.

18. Favourite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

Nothing really stands out so I’ll just say Elspeth and Rushton from the Obernewtyn Chronicles.

19. Favourite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

I’d say The Sending.

20. Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

A Thousand Splendid Suns was a book that I was given by my Nana, and I had no idea what it was about, and I really liked it!

21. Genre You Read The Most From in 2013?

Oh I don’t know, I guess YA or fantasy.

22. Best 2013 debut you read?

I don’t think I read anything from a debut author…

23. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

Um I’d say The Road by Cormac McCarthy it was vividly bleak.

25. Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013?

Oooh, perhaps Mark of Athena (I’m still waiting to get around to House of Hades, hurry up library!)

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2013?

Ah, I think that would be The Fault in Our Stars

27. Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

Definitely Newsflesh, I cannot stress enough how amazing they are!

Blogging Questions

1. New favourite book blog you discovered in 2013? 

I think it would be The Bookshelf of Emily J. I don’t really get around to reading too many blogs, but I really like hers!

2. Favourite review that you wrote in 2013? 

Ah, I have no idea. Anyone want to choose for me?

3. Best discussion you had on your blog?

I’m not sure, but I guess they’d be in my Bookish Topic Tuesday posts

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Um, I don’t think I really participated in anything this year, perhaps next year…

5. Best moment of book blogging/your book life in 2013?

I’m pretty overjoyed that this year I have had over 22,000 views, which is way up on last year! And there’s been more commenting too which is something I really appreciate.

6. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

By views it would have to be the short story of The Devil and Daniel Webster, most likely due to it’s high Google Rank since the blog has Daniel in the title, so it’s up near the top of the search results. And it’s ahead in views by over 1,000!  Then it’s another short story, Three Questions. then a Book Thief post, Growing Up A Saumensch, which also has a good ranking on Google since there aren’t too many things with saumensch in their title. And fourth would be this The Casual Vacancy – #2.

In terms of comments it would be this, the first, The Sending post.

7. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

I’m not too sure, perhaps this post about copyright

8. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Well I did enjoy finding this new Book Blogging site, a great little community has started to form there.

9.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Well I set myself to read 45 books this year, and I’m super close, so, almost complete!

Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2013 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2014?

Refer to this post

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2014 (non-debut)?

Um well, potentially it’ll be The Red Queen, but who knows if that is coming out yet, otherwise I guess it’ll be the last book in the Heroes of Olympus series.

3. 2014 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I have no clue, I am not up with debuts at all!

 4. Series Ending You Are Most Anticipating in 2014?

I have to say The Obernewtyn Chronicles, but right now it’s unclear whether or not the final book will make it out in 2014.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2014?

I guess keep challenging myself with other genres to keep my reading horizons open. In terms of blogging, trying to get more involved in the community perhaps, and keep up at least a review a week!

I hope everyone has a wonderful New Year and I thank everyone for being apart of this blogging journey with me!

6 Comments

Filed under Announcements/Other

6 responses to “Bookish Topic Tuesday – End of the Year Book Survey – 2013

  1. Pingback: 2013 End of Year Book Survey | Read. Run. Study.

  2. Pingback: End of the Year Book Survey | The Starlight Shelves

  3. Kirk

    1. Best Book You Read in 2013

    I’d have to say The Secret Garden.

    2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

    I know this isn’t technically a book, but I read it in a book. Macbeth. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s a very good play, just not quite the flawless gem I was expecting. I liked it, but it would be impossible to live up to the hype it’s received.

    3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013?

    Probably The Secret Garden again.

    4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

    I didn’t recommend any books I read that year to anyone. I recommended The Casual Vacancy to my brother at Christmas, but that doesn’t count because I finished it in 2012.

    5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

    I don’t know. I didn’t really DISCOVER any new series this year. I read The Hunger Games in 2013, though, and liked it a lot more than I thought I would, so perhaps that trilogy would count.

    Otherwise, I’d have to go with the American Presidents series with their book on William Henry Harrison. Lol.

    6. Favourite new author you discovered in 2013?

    This is not a slam against modern authors, but more a slam against what few new books I read this year. Frances Hodgson Burnett.

    7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

    I’d say Roger Ebert’s memoir Life Itself, but I started that in 2012. So I’ll have to say the William Henry Harrison book. I never read any biographies before except for school.

    8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

    Shutter Island, though I was quite able to put it down after finishing a chapter.

    9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

    I have no intention of re-reading any books this year that I read in 2013.
    Finishing books I started in 2013, on the other hand…

    10. Most memorable character in 2013?

    Dickon! He’s th’ trustiest lad i’ Yorkshire!

    12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

    The Secret Garden again.

    13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013?

    Life Itself. It was very sad reading the last chapter after Mr. Ebert had died, as it was quite something to read a dead person talking about how he looked at death, the experience of dying, and what would happen to his consciousness and personal self after he died.

    14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read?

    The Secret Garden. My aunt gave it to me years ago but I only read the first chapter then.

    15. Favourite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013?

    Macbeth:
    “Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow,
    Creeps in this petty pace from day to day
    To the last syllable of recorded time,
    And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
    The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!
    Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player
    That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
    And then is heard no more: it is a tale
    Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
    Signifying nothing.”

    16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

    William Henry Harrison would be the shortest. Life Itself was the longest.

    17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

    The Secret Garden. (More than one, too. I don’t think this is a big spoiler, so I’ll just say I loved the scene where Mary stood up to Colin.)

    18. Favourite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

    Mary/Dickon. Friendship.

    19. Favourite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

    I didn’t read many from authors I’ve read previously, oddly enough. I suppose The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan.

    20. Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

    The Secret Garden again. The only reason I have it is because my aunt had happy memories of her late grandmother Harriet Davy reading it to her and her sister and late brother as a child.

    21. Genre You Read The Most From in 2013?

    I didn’t read many from the same genre this year, so…… don’t laugh at me. Children’s/YA with The Borrowers Aloft, The Titan’s Curse, Hunger Games, and The Secret Garden. Also Carbonel: The King of the Cats which I read to the feline who owns me.

    22. Best 2013 debut you read?

    I didn’t read any, either, Dan.

    23. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

    Secret Garden.

    25. Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013?

    11/22/63. But Secret Garden takes a close second.

    26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2013?

    I can’t even read THAT part of The Titan’s Curse without tears coming to my eyes now. I won’t spoil it but ZOOOOE, WHY?!!!!

    27. Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

    The Secret Garden took too long to develop mainstream attention, in my opinion. It wasn’t even mentioned in obituaries when the author died 13 years later.

    11 and 24. Why is there no 11 or 24?

  4. Kirk

    Blogging Questions

    1. New favourite book blog you discovered in 2013?

    I didn’t really find any new book blogs in 2013.

    2. Favourite review that you wrote in 2013?

    I haven’t written any book reviews obviously, but I suppose my movie review of Bio-Dome.

    “There are some movies it is a chore to even review. And then there are movies that do not even deserve to be referred to as movies rather than what they truly are, endurance tests. And for me ‘Bio-Dome’ falls most definitely into the latter camp. Dare everyone you know all the money they have to sit through this waste of celluloid and you’ll be a millionaire in a week. Many people doubt whether Pauly Shore truly deserves the hatred and mockery he received as a comedian. I watched “Bio-Dome” partly because I did, and I am ashamed of myself for doubting. It’s hard to see how anyone could find him funny, as it is a task even to decipher his idiotic gibberish. And his so-called comedy consists merely of acting like an idiot and running around performing unfunny physical comedy. He and his co-star, Baldwin, play the two leads, do nothing but be stupid and destroy these poor scientists’ experiments for the whole movie. The most enjoyable parts are when their girlfriends who have the absolute worst taste in men are angry at them. And when the lead scientist tries to kill them, explaining ‘It’s not murder, it is a thinning of the herd. They are a symbol of everything that is wrong with this world.’ I stood up and cheered. In fact, I will admit that the film did make me laugh just once. As I watched those two disgraces to the human race starving in the desert, I laughed like a mad hyena. So I suppose I do have to give it credit for that.”

    3. Best discussion you had on your blog?

    Obviously, I did not have any of those.

    4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

    Didn’t have any of those, either.

    5. Best moment of book blogging/your book life in 2013?

    Realizing what a great classic The Secret Garden is, and acting Macbeth’s “Is this a dagger which I see before me” soliloquy.

    6. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

    My first Casual Vacancy review.

    7. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

    My review of “The Casual Vacancy – Part Four”. I think it may be my best.

    8. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

    Can’t think of any.

    9. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

    No, except for finishing Life Itself.

  5. Kirk

    Looking Ahead

    1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2013 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2014?

    The Cuckoo’s Calling.

    2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2014 (non-debut)?

    J.K. Rowling’s sequel to The Cuckoo’s Calling. Other than that, nothing.

    3. 2014 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

    I just answered this question.

    4. Series Ending You Are Most Anticipating in 2014?

    I don’t know of any series endings in 2014. The TV show Mad Men will be ending next year and that saddens me because it’s probably the best show on the air right now.

    5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2014?

    I’ve honestly been considering coming back to deliver a thorough chapter-by-chapter negative review of Water for Elephants. But I’m not sure I would be ready in 2014.

    Would you be interested/able to take the time to read this?

    In any case I wish you luck in your future blogging. That’s why I promoted you on Mark’s TV Tropes page, in fact. (I took down my own link because I decided that was disgraceful.) Happy New Year!

    • Thanks for sharing! I think my numbering got a bit whack!

      I haven’t read Water for Elephants, so once I read that myself I’d be interested to read it! I really enjoyed your reviews for The Casual Vacancy, I thought they were excellent, so I’d definitely make time to read your posts!

      And OH you’re who put that there! I was wondering about that! Thank you so much, I’ve gotten over 300 people from that page!

Leave a Reply

