Part Five – Now Black Now White, Dusk, Night After Night and Not a Brass Razoo

Now Black Now White

“Rose loves the weird boy, she knows it”, well everyone else knew, including me, so I would hope Rose knew too. And Fish keeps ‘playing’ the piano. Grousest, there is a word you don’t hear everyday. She still can’t stand going into that room, I would have thought that the smell would have been long gone. FINALLY, Sam acknowledges his daughter who is wasting away, and tells her to eat, took him long enough. But she can’t eat. I quite like Oriel, she looks out for everyone these days, and wants to take Rose to a doctor, but of course Rose can’t accept.

Dusk

I think I only really have one word to describe this chapter, “What?”

But seriously I am so confused, great imagery, but I don’t quite get it.

Night After Night

Again with the strange short chapters. I feel as though I missed something. I know there is mention of luck, again. But most of that ‘chapter’ confuses me. ‘The Boys had an arrogant chemical sense” ? I quite like the book, but at the same time, I don’t. The style is quite strange, with all these short ‘chapters’, it is interesting and different, and that’s probably why it has won awards and things, but I’m not quite sure if it’s really a story, or a group of short stories combined to make a story.

Not a Brass Razoo

It’s quite sad to think that children can’t go to school because they have no money, or that their parents squander all the money through gambling and alcohol. Education is the most important thing, especially for children, EVERYONE should be educated, no matter what.

The thought of dying, cheers Rose up? I’ve never been in a position anywhere near this, so I can’t really comment, but the thought of dying never cheers me up. In my opinion, Good On Rose! I think she did hat was right, telling her mother how it is. I mean really? ‘You’ll be helping out’. More like she’ll just be getting Dolly some more alcohol money. Rose does more than enough as it is. And good on Sam, for finally standing up to Dolly and saving Rose from a hiding. But then he goes off to the races, and decides to bring her along. Nice bit of humour about the lettuce leaves, but still quite grim. Is it too much to ask for them to win, and then he never goes back to the races?

Leave a Reply

