Bookish Topic Tuesday – Rereading

Bookish Topic Tuesday

Rereading

We all love to read a good book, and when we find one we love, we want to read it again. And in doing so, we get so much more out of the book, yes, we might know what’s coming, but we can appreciate the book in hugely new ways. We can see foreshadowing that we wouldn’t have really understood, we can appreciate the characterisation of our beloved characters, we can relive our favourite moments, and find things we must have glanced over. So rereading is most certainly worth doing, since you really do get a lot out of it. But there comes a point, when you have to start to wonder, should I reread this book/series I’ve read 5 times before, or do I spend my time reading a brand new series?

It’s a conundrum, do you either spend time rereading, or do you spend time reading new things? I know that there are plenty of individual books and whole series, that I would love to reread, I’ve forgotten a lot of what’s happened, can hardly remember who the characters are, and think that maybe I read that when I was slightly too young, cause I don’t remember any of that. I know I read The Chronicles of Narnia when I was younger, but I hardly remember what really happened (apart from what I’ve been reminded of in the movies) and I’ve wondered whether I should reread them. Or Tomorrow when the War Began, A Series of Unfortunate Events, even Harry Potter. That last one is a special case, because, like many of you I’m sure, I’ve read it countless times, I grew up reading them, and every time there was a new book, I’d reread the previous ones to remind myself of what happened. And that’s something I actually tend to do a lot, when a new book comes out, I like to reread them to remind myself of where everything has been leading to, and essentially I’ve been doing that for The Obernewtyn Chronicles, as I refused to read The Sending, since I had no idea what really was going on earlier.

Though that may be great, going through and reading them all does take considerable time, and though I have no issue rereading them, and I’ll enjoy doing it, should I be spending the time working at the long list of books I want to read? Seriously, there are so many good books out there, that sadly, we don’t have enough time to read them all. Even if you read one book a day, for 80 years, you would only read just under 22,000 books, now that is A LOT, but considering that around 2.2 million books are published each year around the world, that’s just a tiny drop in the ocean. When there are nearly 130 million books to choose from, and plenty of those being worth your time, how on earth do you choose which ones to read? And how do you choose whether to reread something you’ve already read, or start something?

It’s really a pressing issue! And there isn’t really an answer, because it depends on so many things. As I’ve said, I like to reread series when there’s going to be a new one, just so I can relive that work, and get prepared. But when it comes to completed series, and individual books (with Harry Potter an exception, but even then, I haven’t reread them since 2011), I don’t tend to reread them, simply because right now, there are so many other books I have waiting to be read. Literally, sitting on my bookshelves, wondering when they are actually going to be read. Like Uglies, The Knife of Never Letting Go, Catch-22, Gone, everything by John Green, 1Q84, Divergent, The Sherlock Holmes stories, The Great Gatsby, Dracula, The Odyssey, The Iliad, The Three Musketeers, plenty of books by Isobelle Carmody, and like hundreds more! So recently, I haven’t really had an opportunity to go through and reread anything, the last one I remember (excluding The Obernewtyn Chronicles) would be The Hunger Games, just before the release of the movie, which is another excuse for rereading.

I think, if you are stuck for suggestions for new books, rereading is a good way to fill the lull of new books, but there are plenty of places to find suggestions of books to read, including your local library! If a new book is coming out in the series, or a movie is coming out, that’s a good time to reread. But, you can’t forget, that your favourite series or book, is most definitely deserving of a reread every now and again, but don’t forget to take a look at some other books, because you’ll be surprised just what’s out there, and how much high quality work you had no idea existed. Is rereading worth your time, of course it is, you won’t be rereading something you hated!

I know some people have almost a policy of never rereading, simply because they don’t want their memories of the book to change, especially if they read it when they were younger. Because, what if you don’t like it anymore? I don’t have that fear, but I’m interested to hear from people if you avoid rereading like the plague. But for everyone, what’s your rereading ‘policy’? And if you like, what’s on your to read list? I’d love to know!

2 thoughts on “Bookish Topic Tuesday – Rereading

  1. I reread all the time. My memory for storylines is pathetic – after a couple of months, I’ve forgotten the detail of what happened! so bring on the re-read!

    Besides, you never know – perhaps the book has changed since you last read it? Maybe there will be hugs, after all (not that I at ALL want to read books with hugs in it. Not at ALL)

    Like you, I reread when the new book in a series comes out. Back before I started studying again, for example, every time a new Wheel of Time came out, I reread the whole thing. This year, I only read the last three or four – I just didn’t have the time to go through the entire series again (but there are fourteen books in it). I reread OC when the Sending came out. I don’t think I will reread it again for TRQ, though, because since I’ve been on OberNet, I’ve actually refamiliarised myself with the earlier books. And your blog here has reminded me what happened in the Sending quite effectively, so I don’t have to reread it again.

    Other series that I’ve reread more than once: Dan Simmons’ Hyperion/Endymion (kind of rereading thtat now), the Robin Hobb Fool books, Tad Williams’ Otherland series. Other things.. It kind of depend on my mood. If I go to my book shelf wanting something to read and happen to spot something that really made an impact, I may pick it up.

  2. When I reread.. nothing changes. My imaginations are merely recalled. I only reread books I think would still entertain me; thats the HP series only so far. Haha!

Leave a Reply

