Bookish Topic Tuesday – Reading Positions

Bookish Topic Tuesday

Reading Positions

Finding a comfortable position to read a book in can be tough. Do you read in a chair? On a sofa? On the floor? In bed? Lying down? So many choices, and then you have to think about your orientation in those pieces of furniture! I tend to read in bed, with my back up against the wall or bedboard, with a nice pillow behind me. It’s not the most comfortable thing, but it works. If I’m not doing that, I’m probably sitting on a sofa, with my legs curled up. It’s actually really tough sometimes to find a position that works, especially when you read for long periods of time, and then you start to go numb!

Sure maybe it’s not really that big an issue, but if I’m going to read I want to find a comfortable position. Reading on my back and holding the book in the air, may be alright for a little while, but my arms get tired. Reading on my stomach hurts me neck after a while. Really I personally favour reading outside, sitting in the sun, in a really cushioned chair. Okay this sounds very silly I know! But, I’m wondering, where do you read? Do you read inside or out? In a chair, in bed, on the floor, in the bath? And what’s your favourite reading position?

Okay this was a really short Bookish Topic, but, a relevant one. If you have any ideas for future topics, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

