Bookish Topic Tuesday – To Read Piles

Bookish Topic Tuesday

To Read Piles/Lists

Yes, I am well aware that this in fact isn’t a Tuesday (though it still is in some parts of the world!), I was just so engrossed in The Great Gatsby that I actually forgot that it was a Tuesday and that I do this on a Tuesday!

So for this bookish topic I want to discuss my to read list/pile/collection/whatever you want to call it. It’s a pretty large pile, and admittedly I have thirty-four plus (since some are collections) books sitting on my shelves waiting to be read! I think the longest waiting book to be read is probably only a few years (less than 4) in the wings, but that’s probably because I’ve only really started buying books. It’s strange that even with so many books that I’ve got waiting for me to be read, I still borrow books from the library pretty regularly. Of the 17 books I’ve read so far this year, I only own 7 of them. Clearly the books I borrow from the library, are ones I actually want to read, so why don’t I buy them? Well I have no idea (maybe that’s another post), why I buy some books and not others, I just do.

So why are these books sitting there waiting to be read, why not just read them, instead of borrowing others? Well I think it comes down to a few things. Firstly, the books I tend to borrow, are newer, and are usually part of a series. Sure I could buy the new book, but there’s just some part of me that won’t buy one book from a series, if I don’t have all the preceding ones. And I think that some of the books, though I really do enjoy, I don’t know if I’ll ever read them again, so I’m not sure if I should buy it, if I just read it once.

Secondly, some of them I want to read for this blog, so I purposely put them off, thinking I’ll get around to them at some point on here. Especially, since I have a number of ‘The Classics’, which I have been saving to do on this blog, since I’ve wanted to read them and see what the ‘fuss’ is all about.

And lastly, sometimes I just can’t be bothered starting a new series, or seeing what a new author is going to be like. Sometimes I just want a book, that I know is going to be enjoyable, and is the next in the series, so I’m really excited about it, so the books sitting there waiting, just don’t have a chance.

So what’s on my to read pile? Here’s the list:

  • Catch-22 by Joseph Heller (the next book I want to read for this blog)
  • The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
  • The Illiad by Homer
  • The Odyssey by Homer
  • Grimms’ Fairy Tales by Brothers Grimm
  • War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy (that’s probably going to be sitting there for a while….)
  • Dracula by Dram Stocker
  • The Complete Novels and Stories about Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Dole
  • The Complete Trilogy of 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami
  • A Dalgliesh Trilogy by P.D. James
  • Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (book one of Chaos Walking)
  • Divergent by Veronica Roth
  • Gone and Hunger by Michael Grant (part of the Gone series, which I really want to read, and have though about doing for the blog)
  • An Abundance of Katherines, The Fault in Our Stars, Looking for Alaska, Papertown and Will Grayson Will Grayson, all by John Green (yes I have bought all of his books, and still haven’t read them!)
  • Greylands by Isobelle Carmody
  • Metro Winds by Isobelle Carmody
  • 3 of the Little Fur books by Isobelle Carmody
  • Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks
  • Unfinished Tales, The Silmarillion and The Children of Hurin by JRR Tolkien
  • Red House by Mark Haddon
  • City of Fallen Angels (always think Angles) by Cassandra Clare
  • And last, but not least, The Game of Thrones by George R R Martin

So as you can see, that’s quite a list! One day I’ll get around to reading them all, and others will just take their place! So, what do you suggest I simply have to read next? And what books do you want to see done on this blog? More importantly, what’s on your to read list?

One thought on “Bookish Topic Tuesday – To Read Piles

Leave a Reply

