Some Facts about The Great Gatsby and an Explanation of Sorts

Firstly:

So I know I haven’t been posting very much lately, but, that’s because there is this thing called life that gets in the way. And it’s going to stay in the way for around the next seven months! So, I won’t be able to post everyday (in fact, I doubt I ever will be able to again), and I have no idea how often I will be able to post. But, I am committed, to this blog, and, to reading through more The Classics. Bookish Topic Tuesday will continue on, meaning there’ll be at least one post a week. I’ll keep my current format of reading through a chapter and posting about it, but they will be infrequent, and, I think that the length of posts will be cut (probably a good thing), and the posts themselves will be somewhat different to my previous ones. Also, the random, single-post reviews will continue, but my personal reading time, has also been cut, so they won’t be all that frequent either. I thank you all for your continued support, and almost ironically, I’ve had the most consistent number of views since I’ve been posting less, and this past month, I’ve had the most views of any month, which is amazing (averaging over 70 a day)! Thanks so much! I’ll always be around to respond to your comments, and I love seeing them (but note, there may be some delay before they appear, more on that in the ‘soon’ to be posted Comments Policy I am also writing).

Secondly (and lastly):

Mentalfloss have created a very interesting list of Great Gatsby Facts (link), and considering nothing has been posted about The Great Gatsby for a while, I thought this could tide you over. It reveals that Gatsby was not at all a roaring success, and when Fitzgerald died, the second print still had 3000 unsold copies! Fitzgerald was hardly paid anything for the book, and the subsequent movie, which was also a flop. And then, after World War 2 (helped by sending 150,000 copies to the US troops – why on earth would they send a book out that was a critical failure, and wasn’t very popular?????), the book started to gain popularity, and I have to really wonder WHY? I think I’ve said it before, that maybe it’s me, not being American, that limits my enthusiasm for this book, but, I have to wonder what the perspective of an American about this book actually is. Is it really so loved over there? Let me know. Plus, what’s your favourite Gatsby fact from the list (or one of your own)?

One thought on “Some Facts about The Great Gatsby and an Explanation of Sorts

  1. I don’t think the book is loved by the general public but more by literature professors and scholars. The average American probably thinks of it as one of the great novels or a pretentious and dull book that pretentious scholars and psuedo-intellectuals praise to sound smart.

    But I wouldn’t really know. I don’t know anyone who has ever mentioned it except for my father. He said he read the book in college and that he doesn’t remember it but that he “liked it medium high, but I guess if I had really liked it I would have remembered it.”

    But you may be right that there is something about the book that is appreciated by Americans and that you and the people you have spoken with do not like it because you are not American. Because with the exception of Kaufman, every well-known American who I have seen or heard mention it thinks it is great and has read it more than once (Roger Ebert, George R.R. Martin, and even Stephan Pastis, a man who says Romeo and Juliet is a comedy, The Sound and the Fury “makes no ******* sense!” and that Nathaniel Hawthorne should have been hanged in Salem, Massachusetts instead of the innocent women, mocks Anton Chekhov and James Joyce, lists The Great Gatsby as one of his favorite books and says he tries to read it again every few years.)

    Perhaps I’ll get back to you once I’ve found time to read it.

    My favorite of those facts is 1. My least favorite is 6, because as in many articles/books I have read, it lists an amount of money as if it had the same value it does today. Adjusted for inflation, $2 in 1925 is about what $27 would be these days.

Leave a Reply

