Bookish Topic Tuesday – 2014 Reading Review

Bookish Topic Tuesday

2014 Reading Review

I was inspired today to check in and see how many books I have actually read of the ones I said I would read at the end of last year in this post. What was I inspired by? Well, I was having an update of the site (as you can see by our wonderful new theme), and came across the list, and thought, what better time to review the year than nearly 3/4 the way through! I also thought I should perhaps get a proper list up, so that will be done shortly. Overall I have read 34 books (which Goodreads believes is 2 behind schedule to reach 50 by the end of the year).

At the top of my list was The Cuckoo’s Calling, and I’ve definitely crossed that one off the list, but basically replaced it with the sequel, The Silkworm. Though honestly, that’s a bit further down my list, so I doubt I’ll get to it this year.

Other leftovers from 2013’s list include The Silmarillion (done), Unfinished Tales (done) and The Children of Hurin (not done) by Tolkein. And continuing the list of unread books: Metro Winds by Isobelle Carmody and Catch-22 by Joseph Heller.

I did read Looking for Alaska, but haven’t yet read any more John Green, though they are near the top of the list. And I did read Divergent. But the others Fahrenheit 451, Sherlock Holmes, Uglies and The Knife of Never Letting Go, Dracula (does Frankenstein count?), Gone by Michael Grant, all have yet to be touched, and most of those I hadn’t even considered reading.

Of course I have gotten around to reading the first two Game of Thrones novels, and the third is sitting there about to be read reasonably soon, and let’s be honest they take a while, and I’m probably going to want to read the rest of the series.

What else crept onto my reading list to leave so many unread? Well, I think Ender’s Saga has taken up a reasonable chunk of time, as did Moby Dick. Yet there are so many more books to be read… *sigh* isn’t the life of a bibliophile tough. I think I’ve done quite well considering I’ve started my university degree, so I’m happy with this progress.

Have your to read piles/lists gotten shorter? Or have they just grown like mine? What popped onto your shelf this year which you didn’t expect? What are you really going to get to in the remaining three months?

4 thoughts on “Bookish Topic Tuesday – 2014 Reading Review

  1. It really is amazing to me that you’ve read THIRTY-FOUR BOOKS, especially considering you were busy studying for your university degree! And it shocks and saddens me that we have but 3 months left in the year. Time goes by much too quickly for me……….

    I really am such a slow reader you put me to shame. As for whether my to read pile has gotten longer and shorter, well, I looked over my comments for that “Books I Plan to Get To In 2014” post and…. well, HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA.

    Okay. So I did at least finish Shutter Island and The Secret Garden, like I said. And I find it amazing I could manage to read both those at the same time without going bipolar they’re such different books. Although interestingly Shutter Island is really just a sad story once you actually discover the truth in the end. It’s only a horror story when we don’t have a clue what’s going on and Lehane builds up our paranoia. The reason the book is so tense in the end I find fascinating, because the climax actually happened TWO YEARS BEFORE THE BOOK EVER STARTED and everything was following that. It is horrifying in a way that someone could go so insane, and that a person could distort reality so much to block out unpleasant truths, and what is about to happen in the very last chapter is rather horrifying simply by the fact that the story ends right before we can see it…. but it’s mostly just sad to me and doesn’t give me nightmares at all. Ultimately I see the book as a romantic tragedy.

    And I did finish The Battle of the Labyrinth and The Borrowers Avenged, and I have just 2 chapters left in The Last Olympian….. (SPOILER Luke’s sacrifice/death fulfilling the prophecy really did come out of nowhere) But I didn’t finish 11/22/63 (I like the book too much to really want to finish it) and I got into The Hunger Games trilogy now, reading Catching Fire. I also spontaneously decided to re-read A Wrinkle in Time to see if I got a renewed appreciation for it and I did. I found sci-fi annoying when I first read it, but I’ve watched so much Doctor Who by now I don’t care and I can just love the whole book.

    So I started re-reading When You Reach Me afterwards and this really is a great mystery/puzzle piece novel. I like the minimalism and I found the ending shocking when I first read it, but now it seems very obvious in hindsight and I don’t know how I missed some clues.

    The Book Thief, of course, popped onto my shelf this year that I didn’t expect, thanks to you saying I’d “better” read it. And now that’s taking up a lot of my time with the blog. So The Cuckoo’s Calling and the grand finale books are still on hold.

    So in the next 3 months I will finish Catching Fire, The Last Olympian and When You Reach Me (again), read more of The Book Thief on the blog (I met a girl in Triple-A who told me it was one of her favorites and I told her about my blog but she had an iPod 5 and didn’t seem all too eager to Google it, so I’m glad I have you). I hope I can get around to Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix at some point too honestly….

    1. I’m here shocked people have read hundreds of books already! (Most of my books have been read in the holidays.) The year has gone very quickly.

      I’m surprised you can cope with so many books simultaneously, I’m not keen on two, three maximum. Sometimes I try to not read too much so I can savour it and so it lasts longer then I give in and read a whole lot.

      1. I do that a lot too, that’s why I have been reading 11/22/63 so long.

        I honestly don’t like reading multiple books at a time, it’s something that I’d like to avoid but it just ends up happening. I have almost finished 3 of those books, though. So then I’ll only have 11/22/63 and The Book Thief dividing my attention.

  2. I don’t just randomly re-read books. When You Reach Me is inspired by A Wrinkle in Time and mentions it multiple times. I’ll read the rest of the Time Quintet for the first time eventually, but not for a while.

Leave a Reply

