Top Ten Tuesday – Books I’m Dying to Read

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday  is a freebie. So looking over their long list of past top 10s, I’ve gone with “Books I’m Dying to Read”.


So avoiding any book which hasn’t been published yet (I’m sure you can guess which two in particular I really want), and trying to avoid books I’ve talked about wanting to read already, here’s my top 10, in no particular order:

  1. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld – The first of a number of series on this list, one I’ve heard good things about, and I own it, so let’s see what the fuss is about.
  2. Gone by Michael Grant – Heard about this series a number of years ago actually, and it prompted me to buy the first two books while I was in Hawaii strangely enough. And they’ve been sitting there since.
  3. The Complete Novels and Stories about Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Dole – hopefully will happen very soon!
  4. The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett – I’m really itching to read some more Pratchett, a lot of people rave about him, and the two works of his (shared works) I loved, so I really want to see how he is like on his own. Plus, I hear he uses footnotes and is hilarious, so I’m excited.
  5. Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker – Only heard about this book a few days ago, but sounds very interesting.
  6. The October Daye Books by Seanan McGuire (aka Mira Grant) – I have been recommended these a few times after professing how much I liked Mira Grant’s Newsflesh series, so I’m interested to see how her alter-ego compares to the real deal (if any difference at all).
  7. The Maze Runner by James Dashner – I purposely avoided trying to see too much of any movie trailer, and I largely succeeded at this. So, beyond the fact it involves a deadly maze, and is dystopia, I know nothing more. And again, I’m dying to read it, and see what it is about.
  8. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller – I’ve been wanting to read this for so long, but just keeps getting pushed off the list. This year!
  9. The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger – A classic I’ve been recommended to read a few times now
  10. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury- Yet another classic sitting on my shelf

As you can see there’s a few series on there, but I’ve put a few classics as well, which I just really would like to read and see what all the fuss is about.

What’s on your list of books you just are dying to read?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I’m Dying to Read

  1. Great list! Haven’t read any of them but want to read all of them 🙂 I think the book thief, 1984 and the night circus is probably at the top of my list

      1. The Night Circus is actually on my list too. Mostly because it sounds similar to Water for Elephants and I went into that book expecting a lot and wound up hating it. So I’m hoping The Night Circus will manage to make up for that. From what I’ve heard it does sound more intriguing.

        Also, wow, I am impressed with all the new readers you’ve acquired!

  2. I feel a bit uncomfortable admitting I have never heard of 4 of these books, and I have no real clue what The Maze Runner is or any desire to read it.

    The Complete Novels and Stories about Sherlock Holmes would definitely be on my list too. Primarily just because I read one story for school and my brother gave me the 2 Guy Ritchie movies for Christmas. And I find myself wondering how faithfully those movies really stay to the source material, having watched most of the first one when it came out. My brother argued that Holmes was trained in boxing and martial arts, but my aunt decided not to see the first one in the theater when I told her there was violence.

    The Catcher in the Rye I have been intrigued about for a long time due to its controversial status and I already told you it’s one of my brother’s favorites.

    Mostly I want to get around to finishing off several series I’ve started. There are a lot of books I’ve wanted to read but put off due to reading other books instead so it is a very long list. The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings trilogy would definitely be on it. Possibly A Song of Ice and Fire and Chronicles of Prydain as well and yes Discworld would be fun to check out. So would the Agatha Christie novels.

    This was a good idea for a list and I will be sure to come up with my own in time.

    (P.S. I honestly never heard of Catch 22 before you mentioned you were going to review it for the blog. There is one personal bit of information I heard about it, but I’ll save that for when you’re near reviewing it.)

    1. The Maze Runner is YA dystopia from what I gather, a movie came out last year. No need to feel uncomfortable, there’s millions of books, so of course you’re not going to know them all.

      I actually loved the 2 films with Robert Downey Jnr. Probably unfaithful to text, but I honestly don’t care with it, because Sherlock Holmes is more a figure than one story. Plus I’ve loved Elementary and Sherlock, two TV shows on in recent times (the first BBC, and the second with Lucy Lu as Watson).

      With Catch-22 I know nothing about it, beyond the fact that I’m guessing there is a ‘Catch-22’ situation.

  3. Hi. Great list! I read The Catcher in the Rye 2 years ago & didn’t enjoy it. However if I had read it when I was in my teens, I might have liked it so much. I have Catcher-22 in my to be read list – was so lucky to find the book at a sale. I was looking for Fahrenheit 451 too but didn’t find any copy.
    I watched The Maze Runner without reading the book first. I was disappointed by the movie. Not sure if I would read the book.

  4. Great choice of topic for freebie week! I read The Maze Runner last year, literally just before the film was released and it is definitely worth the read, the entire series is incredible. I started the Gone series, bought all the books and got a few into it and then didn’t end up finishing it. I really need to though because it was great!
    I hope you get round to reading these, there are some really great books on your list! 🙂

  5. I did the same thing as you for the Mockingjay movie (re: avoiding anything related to the film) as I chose to read the books as the film was being released (but I guess there was no sense of urgency to read the final book as the movie was split in two parts). Anyways, I ended up watching TMR before reading the book and I definitely felt the urge to read the trilogy afterwards despite so many close friends being iffy about the progression of the trilogy. So many I need to watch the first half of the film to jump start the willingness to read the rest of the trilogy.

    Catcher definitely seems like a hit-or-miss novel as I’ve yet to see many who like/dislike it at the same time haha. I personally couldn’t stand Holden soooo–I do hope you enjoy these novels if/when you get the chance!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    1. From the sounds of all these comments The Catcher does sound somewhat hit and miss, a few liked it, a few didn’t. I probably won’t love it, considering my track record of classic novels. But we shall see.

Leave a Reply

