Top Ten Books – ALL TIME FAVOURITE BOOKS from the past 3 years

Top10Tuesday

Well this is going to be a tough one! I’ll say straight up that this list is in no particular order:

  1.  Newsflesh trilogy by Mira Grant – yes it’s three books, but whatever, I’ll say that of the three that my favourite is the first one, Feed.
  2. Song of Fire and Ice series by GRRM- I know, another series but it’s hard to choose. Of these, gosh, my favourite I think would be A Clash of Kings.
  3. Chaos Walking trilogy, this will be the last series, I promise, but it’s such an amazing series I can’t not have them all. My favourite here is probably the last one, Monsters of Men.
  4. I lied, Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan. They are so much fun, and such an easy read. And I love reading about Greek/Roman mythology.
  5. Ashling by Isobelle Carmody (and the whole Obernewtyn series in general, but I don’t want yet another series). I think that this is where things start to pick up for the series, and pick up do they ever.
  6. Moby Dick by Herman Melville, a truly great classic which despite its length, I really enjoyed
  7. Ender’s Game (the first book) – I just loved the concept and the fun of the book.
  8. American Gods by Neil Gaiman – Really enjoyed it without knowing what to expect. Hope to reread it one day so I can appreciate it even more.
  9. The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien – I do count this as a single book, and it’s epic fantasy and it’s epic.
  10. Good Omens by Terry Prachett and Neil Gaiman- this book is a riot, and is so fun and imaginative.

That was really tough. What about your most favourite reads of the last few years?

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books – ALL TIME FAVOURITE BOOKS from the past 3 years

  1. I continue to find it very surprising you liked Moby Dick, just from what I’ve heard of it (and my father was bored trying to read it off his parents’ bookshelf as a teen). All-in-all, I don’t think you’re really the classics hater you think you are, considering you had only 2 real disagreements.

    If you ever get around to watching (or already have seen) The Apartment, feel free to let me know what you think, extraneous fluff or not.

    1. I found it a little surprising too, but perhaps it was just my state of mind which made it so. Haven’t seen The Apartment, but I’ll put it on the list!

Leave a Reply

