Ten Books For Readers Who Like Series

Top10Tuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is Ten Books For Readers Who Like Series.

I had no idea what to put after ‘like’ as we got to choose this week, so I went for ‘series’. I love a good series, it lasts for pages beyond pages, and it gets really complex and so much development. It’s great. So without further ado:

  1. The Obernewtyn Chronicles by Isobelle Carmody
  2. A Song of Fire and Ice by George R R Martin
  3. Newsflesh by Mira Grant
  4. Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness
  5. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket – loved this as a child
  6. Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan (all of his series really)
  7. Harry Potter by JK Rowling
  8. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  9. The Disappearance by John Birmingham – really cool alternative fiction/sci fi – about a dome suddenly coming down across the US, killing everyone inside, and the consequences.
  10. Tomorrow When the War Began by John Marsden – AMAZING survival fiction, probably what kickstarted my love for the genre

What series do you recommend?

8 thoughts on “Ten Books For Readers Who Like Series

    1. I have that book, too!

      Daniel, I thank you for your recommendations, as I have only read 3 of these series! (Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, The Hunger Games). I recommend Belgariad, Mysterious Benedict Society, and perhaps The Baker Street Irregulars (though this is obviously not Guy Ritchie).

  1. Nice list. 🙂 I wouldn’t have thought of doing series (actually, I’m still trying to come up with my genre/topic…) I just read the third book in A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket, it’s my first book by him. I’d heard several people raving about it and since I write Middle Grade I figured I should give it a try. 🙂 It wasn’t exactly my cup of tea, but I did find it interesting.

    (Stopping by from the TTT link-up)

  2. Love Obernewtyn and remember being captivated by the Tomorrow series when I was young. Other series that I love:
    – Any of Robin Hobb’s, but particularly the assorted Fitz ones.
    – Robert Jordan’s ‘Wheel of Time’
    – Susan Cooper’s ‘The Dark is Rising’. Absolutely LOVED this when I was young. Probably one of my earlier fantasy reads.
    – Tad William’s ‘Otherland’.

Leave a Reply

