I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

So I received this book for free from Dymocks in exchange for a review (Thank you). I got it without knowing anything about it, and read the blurb and was like “ugh I don’t think this will be my thing”. I mean, I don’t read romantic novels, ever, and sometimes romances have made me roll my eyes, but not here. I’m really pleasantly surprised. I really liked the story. I liked the writing style, it was creative, the inside of the book had nice ‘artistic splashes’, it had personality.

I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson, by Walker Books, Cover
I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson, by Walker Books, Cover

And the storyline was nice too, it wasn’t full on romance, it was simply a story of twins who have gone through hell, and how they cope with that, and find some love. It’s complex, and written in split perspective a few years apart, so that was really clever too. I’m very pleased with the book, and enjoyed reading it. It’s nice to be surprised.I found the split perspective over a few years to be a really interesting way of presenting the story. It made for some really good reveals and some dramatic irony. And then there was the fact that Noah would always paint the world while he narrated, while Jude would converse with her Grandmother’s ghost, and recite quotes from her grandmother’s ‘bible’ (about superstitions, etc). I quite liked these as they really livened up the story, and were interesting asides.

I think it was the complexity of the story that made me appreciate it more. Noah and Jude were once very close, but we see how they drifted apart, and just how self-inflicted that division was, because of lack of communication and misjudgement. And the storyline was teased out like I said. There’s more that I want to say about specifics, but I don’t want to actually ruin the story. Because for once it isn’t boy meets girl and falls in love, it’s more complicated than that, and I don’t even think that’s the main focus.

Overall, it was great book, one I didn’t expect to enjoy, but I ended up loving it. Nelson has written a complex story, in a creative way, and done it really well. I’d definitely recommend reading it.

Leave a Reply

