The Long Mars

This is the third novel in the Long Earth series by Terry Prachett and Stephen Baxter. I think it was an improvement on the last one, but it still didn’t blow me away. I somewhat enjoyed it, and I was interested in the general ideas. But, it just doesn’t quite capture me, and it doesn’t develop the ideas quite enough. It’s still a little stale. I just wanted a little bit more. Still I’ll read the next one, The Long Utopia, when it comes out this year.

Unfortunately, I read this book a while ago, and then neglected to review it. So writing this review is tricky. In fact, I’m struggling to remember really happened. On Goodreads I gave it a 4/5 and said “Better than the last one, but still not amazing. Keep introducing more themes and issues, but not great resolution or exploration.”

I did find the idea of a Long Mars to be an interesting one, and the plot plodded along, but it feels as though it is lacking something, and I’m not sure where the story is going. There doesn’t seem to be a strong plot line running through it all, and it feels like things we don’t really connect with the characters a whole lot. Stuff happens, we traverse the Long Earth, but it’s just not quite enough.

2 thoughts on “The Long Mars

Leave a Reply

