Five Books To Read If You Like Harry Potter

Top10TuesdayThis week, I’m struggling a little, simply because I haven’t read that much to be honest, especially not that much magic, which actually surprises me. So here are my Five Books To Read If You Like Harry Potter.

  1. The Obernewtyn Chronicles by Isobelle Carmody – a ‘chosen one’ with abilities, where there is (eventually) a community of like-abilitied people. But so much more than that.
  2. Ender’s Game – just stick to the first one!
  3. Red Rising Trilogy – again, a ‘chosen one’ story, with a school, but a lot more violent, but oh so good
  4. Reticulum by Marta Salek – a school of magic story, which I quite liked, and it’s not very well known at all
  5. Dragon Keeper by Carole Wilkinson – ‘chosen one’ to ride with a dragon, haven’t read it in many years, but it was a lovely book at the time

And I request from you, what are some good magic stories with wizards and witches? I feel like I should have read hundreds of them by now, but I struggle to think of many at all.

10 thoughts on “Five Books To Read If You Like Harry Potter

  1. I just finished Red Rising the other day, and I adored it. Interesting that you’d have it on the same list as Harry Potter though, that definitely wasn’t my first thought πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

