Halloween themed freebie – actually – 10 Books I wish I read as a child

Top10Tuesday

This week is supposed to be a Halloween themed freebie, but I honestly can’t think of a book that has scared me (I’m open to suggestions). There’s just something un-scary about reading it, if you were to add in some music and a dark gloomy night, perhaps, but I’m not too scared by it. Though I don’t even want to begin to watch a horror movie. Perhaps the books I’m reading just aren’t scary enough.

Instead I’m brining an past list – 10 books I wish I read as a child

  1. Where the Wild Things are
  2. Charlotte’s Web
  3. The Giving Tree
  4. Percy Jackson – I started reading this a little later, though I still really enjoy them, I would have LOVED them earlier
  5. The Age of Miracles
  6. The Wizard of Oz (can’t believe there are 14 original books, and tens of other ‘canonical ones’)
  7. The Obernewtyn Chronicles – I got to them when I was a teenager, but, would have been even better if it was earlier – though it would mean I would be waiting for longer!
  8. Grimm’s Fairy Tales – I started reading some of them now, and would have liked them a lot more when I was younger
  9. Goosebumps – people keep talking about reading these in primary school, I certainly didn’t. Perhaps they would have helped with this week’s real challenge
  10. Enid Blyton and Nancy Drew – completely different, but two very large categories.

So what do you wish you read as a child?

7 thoughts on “Halloween themed freebie – actually – 10 Books I wish I read as a child

  1. I loved the Goosebumps series so much! They gave me so many first – first “terrifying” read, first choose-your-own-ending book, first surprise twist, and so on.

  2. Oh man, starting the Obernewtyn Chronicles would be kind of awesome, but also really awful! Can you imagine having to wait that much longer for it to be completed? Total torture! :p

    My TTT

  3. I read Where the Wild Things Are with my aunt as a child, and we saw the movie in the theater, and couldn’t stop howling for a while on the drive home.

    I also read Charlotte’s Web as a child. The Giving Tree I remember thinking of the saddest book ever written when I was 4 years old. I didn’t have any opinion of it other than that. I preferred Silverstein’s other works such as Lafcadio. I remember picking that book up at school when I was 5 and reading it for hours, only vaguely aware of the world around me.

Leave a Reply

