Top Ten Books I HAD to Buy but Still Have Not Read

Top10Tuesday

This week was supposed to be about my 10 debut authors I want a sophomore novel from, but considering how few debut authors I read, that isn’t going to work. Instead I’m taking a free pick, and sharing my top 10 books I just had to have, but haven’t read.

  1. Under the Dome by Stephen King – saw promotion for the TV show, and wanted to read the book, little did I realise it was a big book, and life got in the way. Ended up watching the first two seasons of the show though, the third just looked uninteresting
  2. The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith – think I got this quite close to the release date, and I hadn’t even finished the first one!
  3. Gone Girl – I heard a lot of hype about it, I don’t know much about it (cause I focus to avoid spoilers), but it’s still just sitting there
  4. Darkfall by Isobelle Carmody – I bought this (and Darksong – both part of the Legendsong trilogy) knowing that one day I would read them, that day will likely be once I know when the last book is actually coming out!
  5. Gone by Michael Grant – I had gotten a recommendation to read the book, and whilst in Hawaii I saw it and the sequel and just had to buy them
  6. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld – bought this at a writer’s festival after only hearing vague mentions of the book previously
  7. The Red House by Mark Haddon – his book The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime was incredible, so I ended up buying his other book, and then this one, but just never got around to it, and this one got pretty average reviews
  8. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller – I said I was going to read this book so long ago, and still haven’t
  9. War and Peace – I just really wanted it, one day it’ll happen
  10. Dune – I saw it at a secondhand bookstore a while ago

So what unread, but desperately wanted books are sitting on your shelves?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I HAD to Buy but Still Have Not Read

  1. I loved Under the Dome…until the end. It was still a good read, I just think King could have ended it better. The series started out similar to the book and grew to be nothing like it. I finally gave up watching it. I hurried and read Gone Girl right before the DVD was released because I knew hubby and I wanted to watch it. It was a good book, but I hated every character in it except one minor player. I had a hard time with this week’s topic as well, so I only came up with 5.

  2. I’ve read a few of your list, and actually I’d put Dune on top!! It’s an oldie, but holds up really well! I “read” Catch-22 for a few months, and I liked it, but couldn’t stick with it… Maybe I’ll cheat and watch the movie… My Top 10

Leave a Reply

