The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

The second book in the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, I read the first one a little while ago, and wasn’t amazed by it. It was okay, but I really expected to like it more. I thought that perhaps it was the fact that I had seen the movie of it, which meant I knew what was happening, so didn’t enjoy it as much. Given that I actually did like this one, this may be the case. The alternate is that perhaps I was in a different mood compared to last time. Whatever it is, I’m glad I decided to read the sequel.

It was a nice, light novel, which is refreshing after reading things from Ness, though they are amazing, it is nice to have an easy read every now and again. The humour is witty and sarcastic, and I like both of those things. Like arriving back to ‘Earth’, a restaurant literally witnessing ‘The End of the Universe’, ‘the man who runs the universe’, all brilliant. I had zero idea where the book was going, and I like that.

I don’t have a whole lot to say, other than I’m interested to see where this series goes in the end.

Leave a Reply

